So this blog starts with a lie.

10 Feb

I don’t have Nolita yet. T-minus 10 days. But I’m all ready! I’ve got the dog bed and the crate. The nail clippers, the shampoo, the toys.

Oh my God, this fierce puppy right here:

Look at this dog. Her ear is mussed, she doesn't bat an eye. Can't talk, having too much fun.

Look at this dog. Her ear is mussed, she doesn't bat an eye. Can't talk, having too much fun.

is getting so many awesome toys. Noli’s getting a DRAGON (doesn’t breathe fire, but cries jelly bean tears), a HIPPO, an OCTOPUS, and a pig. Yeah, the pig’s nowhere near as cool as the others but it’s gigantic and fluffy so whatever, thanks Mom.

And then she’s got one of these stupid things:

The stupidest effing thing ever.
The stupidest effing thing ever.

At least it’s stupid according to the boyfriend. The transcribed voicemail reads: “I got your stupid dog a f*cking rope with a knot in it. Are you happy?” And later: “And just so you know the f*cking rope with a knot in it is from Martha Stewart Pets. Bye.”

He’s so excited to get Noli. I don’t blame him. Just look at how cute that dog is. He’s gone from apathetic to super duper excited, I just know it.

But enough about the stupid dog.

More about me! And the blog! Isn’t it shiny?

It’s new! Hopefully it’ll last; I make no promises. But as a still-fairly-recent college grad (2 years out this May), I’m still getting used to a lot of this real world nonsense. Ended up in Raleigh, somewhat surprisingly. I’ve gone from kicking and screaming to ambivalent. Turns out that Raleigh, like other cities I’ve lived in and visited and loved, has a fairly badass food scene. So a lot of the posts here are going to be about different restaurants we go to and get take-out from. I watch a ton of movies so there’ll be posts on that (maybe I’ll do Oscar reviews!). I have a pretty fierce television addiction so there’ll be posts on that (at one point I think my weekly lineup was 15 shows long). Video games too? Sure, why the hell not! Maybe the occasional funny work story…I DO indeed have a job! Two!

And of course there’ll be plenty of puppy posts. Lots of pictures and videos. Puppy play dates, vet visits, blah blah blah.

LET’S DO THIS!!!!!!

Leave a comment